FRUITA, Colo. (KREX) – Every state in the nation has move-over laws, which were created to protect first responders and other professionals while they work along the roadways.
The Colorado State Patrol and Mesa County Traffic Incident Management Team held a press conference today reminding motorists to slow down and move over this holiday season.
According to a CSP report, over 2000 crashes involving workers being struck by motorists who failed to yield have been investigated since 2019.
Drivers are required by law to move one lane away from the specified vehicle, when a lane is available. If a lane change is not an option, drivers are instructed to slow down. If the roadway has a speed limit of 45 mph or more, “slow down” means to reduce speeds to 20 mph under the speed limit. If the roadway has a speed limit of 40 mph or less, “slow down” means traffic may go no faster than 25 mph.
The law requires drivers to move over or slow down when approaching any emergency vehicle, tow truck or highway maintenance vehicle that has their emergency lights activated. A violation of the statute carries a fine of up to $167.
Source: Grand Junction Local News | Colorado State Patrol urges drivers to slow down, move over