Scola among 4 appointed by Bach to IOC athletes commission

NBA player Luis Scola of Argentina is among four athletes appointed to the IOC athletes’ commission.

The appointments were made by International Olympic Committee President Thomas Bach.

The others are Indian badminton star Saina Nehwal, Egyptian modern pentathlete Aya Medany, and Jordanian taekwondo athlete Nadin Dawani.

The IOC says the four will not have IOC membership, however. They are in addition to the 12 members elected by athletes to the commission for eight-year terms.

The four were unsuccessful candidates in IOC athlete elections during the Rio de Janeiro Olympics.

The IOC says Bach can appoint up to seven additional members “in order to ensure a balance between regions, gender, and sports.”

Scola, a power forward for the New Jersey Nets, was Argentina’s flag bearer in Rio. He won an Olympic gold in 2004 and bronze in 2008. Nehwal was the first Indian to win an Olympic badminton medal, a bronze in 2012. Medany and Dawani were three-time Olympians, and Dawani the Jordan chef de mission in Rio.

Leave a Reply